Nat Sciver-Brunt Makes History as Wisden’s Top Cricketer

Nat Sciver-Brunt Makes History as Wisden’s Leading Cricketer

Nat Sciver-Brunt has become the first English woman to be honored as Wisden’s leading cricketer in the world, leading an awards list that also includes Harry Brook and Mark Wood among the almanack’s five cricketers of the year.

Sciver-Brunt’s outstanding form in 2023 earned her the top billing in the women’s game, while Australia’s captain Pat Cummins was recognized as the men’s leading cricketer. Sciver-Brunt’s star power was acknowledged earlier this year when her lucrative deal with the Mumbai Indians in the Women’s Premier League made her the UK’s highest-paid female team athlete.

The English all-rounder hit three ODI centuries in five innings, including two Ashes tons in quick succession, as England came from behind to draw the marquee series against Australia 8-8. Sciver-Brunt also set a new English record with a 66-ball hundred against Sri Lanka. Her recognition by Wisden ends a decade-long streak of Australian winners in the women’s category.

“Nat Sciver-Brunt’s outstanding form in 2023 earned her the top billing in the women’s game.”

The historic cricketers of the year panel also had a distinct Ashes flavor, with Yorkshire’s Harry Brook and England’s Mark Wood earning the prestigious once-in-a-career award. Brook scored 363 runs at over 40 in his maiden Ashes series, while the experienced Wood’s pace and impact helped lift England in the series, despite the hosts failing to regain the urn.

Usman Khawaja and Mitchell Starc were also honored for their standout performances, finishing as the top run-scorer and wicket-taker respectively in the thrilling Ashes contest. Australia’s Ashleigh Gardner was recognized for her pivotal contributions with the ball in the women’s Ashes Test.

The Wisden Trophy for Test performance of the year went to another Australian, Travis Head, for his decisive 163 in the World Test Championship final against India. West Indian Hayley Matthews became the first woman to be named leading T20 cricketer of the year.

🔗 Source