2024 County Cricket Season: Signings, Departures, and Overseas Players

County Cricket Roundup: All the Key Signings and Departures for the 2024 Season

As the 2024 county cricket season approaches, teams across England have been busy reshuffling their squads with a flurry of signings, departures, and overseas player acquisitions. From established stars seeking new challenges to promising youngsters looking to make their mark, the county circuit is gearing up for an exciting campaign.


In Derbyshire, the club has bolstered its ranks with the arrivals of Samit Patel, David Lloyd, Pat Brown, Aneurin Donald, and Ross Whiteley, while parting ways with several players, including George Scrimshaw, who has joined Northamptonshire. Overseas signings for Derbyshire include Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir, New Zealand’s Blair Tickner, and South Africa’s Daryn Dupavillon.


Durham, on the other hand, has welcomed the experienced duo of Colin Ackermann and Callum Parkinson, both joining from Leicestershire. The county has also secured the services of South African David Bedingham and Australian seamer Scott Boland for the upcoming season.


Over at Essex, the club has secured the signing of Kent’s Jordan Cox, while parting ways with several players, including the legendary Sir Alastair Cook, who has retired. Essex’s overseas contingent includes South African duo Simon Harmer and Dean Elgar, alongside Australian all-rounder Daniel Sams.


Glamorgan has brought in Hampshire’s Mason Crane on a season-long loan, while David Lloyd has moved to Derbyshire. The Welsh county will feature the talents of Australian Marnus Labuschagne, South African Colin Ingram, and Pakistan’s Mir Hamza.


Gloucestershire has seen several players depart, including Tom Lace, Will Naish, Paul van Meekeren, and Jared Warner, but has secured the services of Australian trio Cameron Bancroft, Beau Webster, and Zafar Gohar from Pakistan.


Hampshire has bid farewell to Aneurin Donald, Ross Whiteley, and Mason Crane, while welcoming Ali Orr from Sussex. Their overseas roster includes South African Kyle Abbott, Pakistani Mohammad Abbas, Australian Ben McDermott, Michael Neser, and Afghanistan’s Naveen-ul-Haq.


Kent has welcomed Matt Parkinson from Lancashire, George Garrett from Warwickshire, and Michael Cohen, while parting ways with Jordan Cox, who has joined Essex. The club’s overseas signings include Wes Agar from Australia and Xavier Bartlett, also from Australia.


Lancashire has made several changes, including the departure of Matt Parkinson to Kent and the arrival of Mitchell Stanley from Worcestershire. The Red Rose county has secured the services of Australian off-spinner Nathan Lyon for the majority of the season, as well as New Zealand’s Tom Bruce.


Leicestershire has seen a significant overhaul, with the arrivals of Liam Trevaskis from Durham, Ben Cox from Worcestershire, and Ben Mike from Yorkshire. The county has also welcomed Scott Currie on loan from Hampshire. Overseas players for Leicestershire include Australia’s Peter Handscomb and South Africa’s Wiaan Mulder.


Middlesex has brought in Leus du Plooy from Derbyshire and Henry Brookes from Warwickshire, while parting ways with the retired Tim Murtagh.


Northamptonshire has welcomed George Scrimshaw from Derbyshire, George Bartlett from Somerset, and Ravi Bopara from Sussex for the Vitality Blast. The county’s overseas contingent includes Karun Nair from India, Chris Tremain from Australia, Prithvi Shaw from India, and Sikandar Raza from Zimbabwe.


Nottinghamshire has bid farewell to Samit Patel, who has joined Derbyshire, as well as Stuart Broad, who has retired. The club has welcomed Josh Tongue, Dillon Pennington, and Jack Haynes from Worcestershire. Overseas players for Nottinghamshire include New Zealand’s Will Young, South Africa’s Dane Paterson, New Zealand’s Ben Lister, and Afghanistan’s Fazalhaq Farooqi.


Somerset has signed Jake Ball from Nottinghamshire, while parting ways with George Bartlett, who has joined Northamptonshire, as well as the retired Steven Davies. Australian Matt Renshaw will feature as an overseas player for the county.


Surrey has welcomed Dan Lawrence from Essex, while parting ways with Dan Moriarty, who has joined Yorkshire. The county’s overseas roster includes Kemar Roach from the West Indies, Sean Abbott from Australia, and Spencer Johnson for the Vitality Blast.


Sussex has seen the departure of John Simpson to Middlesex and Ali Orr to Hampshire, while welcoming Danny Lamb from Lancashire. The club’s overseas players include Cheteshwar Pujara from India, Jayden Seales from the West Indies, Daniel Hughes from Australia, Nathan McAndrew from Australia, and Jaydev Unadkat from India.


Warwickshire has acquired the services of George Garton from Sussex and Richard Gleeson from Lancashire for the Vitality Blast, while parting ways with Henry Brookes, who has joined Middlesex. Pakistan’s Hassan Ali will feature as an overseas player for the Bears.


Worcestershire has welcomed Tom Taylor and Josh Cobb from Northamptonshire, Rob Jones from Lancashire, and Ethan Brookes from Warwickshire. The county has also bid farewell to Josh Tongue, Dillon Pennington, and Jack Haynes, who have all joined Nottinghamshire. Worcestershire’s overseas signings include Jason Holder from the West Indies, Nathan Smith from New Zealand, and Usama Mir from Pakistan.


Finally, Yorkshire has secured the services of Dan Moriarty from Surrey, while parting ways with Ben Mike, who has joined Leicestershire. The county’s overseas contingent includes Shan Masood from Pakistan and Donovan Ferreira from South Africa for the Vitality Blast.

🔗 Source