Senior Women’s Inter Zonal Multi Day Trophy: East vs. South Zone Showdown

Here is the news article with Markdown formatting to enhance SEO and readability:

Domestic Women’s Cricket Takes Center Stage: East Zone vs. South Zone in Senior Inter Zonal Trophy Final

Get ready for a thrilling showdown as the Indian women’s domestic vertical takes center stage in the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal Multi Day Trophy. The championship has reached its zenith with the powerhouse teams of East Zone, led by Deepti Sharma, and South Zone, captained by Minnu Mani, battling it out for ultimate supremacy in the grand final at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium.

The South Zone team, alongside the Harmanpreet Kaur-led North Zone, entered the semifinal stage by way of a draw of lots. However, fortunes soon shifted as North suffered a massive 135-run defeat at the hands of East in the semifinal. Meanwhile, South Zone, despite being held in a draw against the Smriti Mandhana-led West Zone, claimed a spot in the final thanks to their crucial first innings lead.

“East enters the final with more time on the pitch under their belt. After securing their place by beating North East in the quarterfinal, Deepti Sharma’s team will look to ride their winning momentum as they face a formidable South Zone squad.”

In the quarterfinal, East displayed a commanding performance over North East, with Dhara Gujjar hitting an exquisite ton and Deepti leading the bowling charge with a phenomenal seven-wicket haul. Consequently, North was under immense pressure after being bowled out for a mere 132 in the first innings against East.

However, North’s bowlers entertained fans with a fierce challenge in the semifinal, dismissing East for a mere 132 in the first innings. But Deepti’s side surged back with heroic efforts from Mamta Paswan (who claimed a well-deserved fifer) and Deepti herself (bagging four wickets, including the crucial capture of Harmanpreet Kaur). Fueled by Dhara Gujjar’s crucial half-century, East ultimately emerged triumphant with a thrilling 165-run win, cementing their place in the final.

The tournament has seen several phenomenal performances from players fighting for India caps in the longest format of the game. A widespread interest in more international red ball cricket has sparked added enthusiasm for this championship. Although there is no live streaming or broadcast available for the tournament, the cream of the women’s cricket ecosystem has been thoroughly represented in every zone.

The Final Squads:

South Zone:

  • Roshni Kiran
  • M Durga (wk)
  • G Kamalini
  • Tamanna Nigam
  • Minnu Mani (c)
  • Arundhati Reddy
  • Sajeevan Sajana
  • Sunanda
  • S Anusha
  • Sahana S Pawar
  • Shabnam
  • Poorva Bhaidkar
  • Sonal
  • Purvaja P Verlekar
  • Trisha Poojitha

East Zone:

  • Deepti Sharma (c)
  • Monikha Das
  • Uma Chetry (WK)
  • Dhara Gujjar
  • Suravi S Roy
  • Durga Murmu
  • Rizu Saha
  • Sushree Dibyadarshini
  • Titas Sadhu
  • Mamta Paswan
  • Saika Ishaque
  • Rachna Singh
  • Richa
  • Annapurna Banamali Das
  • Tanmayee Beher

As the excitement reaches fever pitch, cricket enthusiasts are left wondering: Will Deepti’s legendary form continue, or will South Zone’s sprinters rise to the challenge? Stay tuned for this exhilarating encounter.

BBC Rugby Union (n.d.)
Date: [Insert Date]

🔗 Source