Monday , March 27 2017
Home / ICC / ICC World Cup

ICC World Cup

ICC World Cup

In the field of cricket, the icc world cup is regarded as the premier tournament. Cricket fans and cricketing nations, from all across the globe, are deeply involved in it. The first International Cricket Council World Cup started in the year 1975, at the birthplace of cricket, England. At that time, there were six participants, all of them were the test playing nations. Their names are Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, West Indies, England, Australia and a team from the East African region.
Initial events were organized by England. Instead of ICC World Cup, initial three events were known as Prudential Cup, naming it after the sponsor Prudential PLC.
1975, England
In this ICC world cup, there were 60 overs per innings. West Indies claimed the title, after defeating Australia in the finals. At that time, there was no concept of day and night matches, so all matches were played in the daytime.

1979, England
After the first edition of the World Cup, the comity decided to make it as a quadrennial event. Now fans will wait for four years, to see World Cup. After the first World Cup, ICC now decided to introduce a trophy. The basic purpose of the trophy is to select contest playing nations, which can participate in the world cup. Canada and Sri Lanka were successful to claim ICC Trophy.
The second title was again, won by West Indies after defeating England in the finals, at their home ground.
1983, England
England was hosting the icc world cup, for the third time. India claimed the title after defeating, West Indies, who were the winners of previous two World Cup editions. In this World Cup, there was an amendment in the at the ground. Now within 30 yards from the stumps, it is must keep four fielders in the circle.
1987, Pakistan and India
Subcontinent Pakistan and India had the honor to host the fourth World Cup edition. In this edition, there were two new occurrences. From 60 overs, the game was now reduced to 50 overs per innings and the first time the cup moved outside from England. Australia won the title this time, after a nail-biting match.
1992, New Zealand and Australia
Pakistan was successful to win this edition of the game. New Zealand and Australia hosted this tournament this time. England was again defeated by Pakistan in the finals. This time, there were many changes to the game. Day and night matches were introduced, along with a change in fielding restrictions. The colored kit was introduced along with the white ball.
1996, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India
Icc world cup again came to the subcontinent. This time, the final was played in Lahore, Pakistan. Sri Lanka claimed the title after defeating Australia in the finals with seven wickets in hand.
1999, Scotland, Ireland and England & Wales.
After a long time, World Cup again came to England. The final was in between Australia and Pakistan. And Australia won the title, giving its rival a tough time.
2003, Kenya, Zimbabwe, and South Africa
This time, the number of teams participating in the game were increased to fourteen, to increase the competition. Australia again won the world, after defeating India in the finals with a big margin on the board.
2007, West Indies
This time, Australia made his hat trick, after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals.
2011, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and India
Breaking Australia winning streak India won the ICC world cup, after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals.
2015, New Zealand and Australia
In the eleventh edition of the game, Australia again won the game, after defeating New Zealand in the finals, who reached the finals for the first time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *