Thursday , March 23 2017
Home / International Cricket / A Preview with History of ICC Cricket World Cup !

A Preview with History of ICC Cricket World Cup !

A Preview with History of ICC Cricket World Cup !

Started since 1975, cricket world’s biggest event World Cup event is here with some severe competition, magic and entertainment for the cricket fans.

The mega event is organised by the governing body International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which held in a gap of every four years. Many reports and the stats have declared that the ICC World Cup is the world’s fourth largest and most viewed sporting event.

Word Cup History

The success and popularity of the domestic one-day competitions in England and other parts of the world, as well as the early One-Day Internationals, prompted the International Cricket Council (ICC) to consider organising a Cricket World Cup. The inaugural ICC Cricket WC was hosted in 1975 by England.

Australia has won the cup for maximum four times – with three in a row. They won in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007 but it is unlikely that the team may repeat the same performance this time as well.

West Indies, who were a dominant force in the international cricket for some time have fallen into a big slump, and are now ranked at the ninth position in the ODI rankings by the ICC. They have won the ICC WC event for two times in 1975 and 1979.

Pakistan, India, and Sri Lanka – all the Asian giants have won the cup for one time. But other major countries like New Zealand, England, South Africa and others haven’t won it once.

The ICC cricket World Cup would be held between 19 February and 2 April 2011 in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Pakistan was also supposed to be holding the WorldCup matches, but due to security reasons, they were stripped off all their matches.

This time, there are 14 countries that would be participating for the tournament, including India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, England, South Africa, Australia, West Indies, Ireland, Netherlands, Zimbabwe, Kenya, New Zealand and Canada.

India, South Africa, Australia and Sri Lanka are the major teams in this World Cup tipped to be winning the tournament. India’s hopes are high this time as they will be hosting the cup and their master batsman Sachin Tendulkar is likely playing his last WC this year.

In 2011 ICC CWC there will be 42 league matches, four Quarter Finals, two Semi Finals and a Final. Finals to be held on 2nd April at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

As England’s ‘2009 ICC T20 Cricket Tournament’ came to an end, I’m sure there will be more than a few cricket pundits assessing their performance during the tournament and more importantly their team balance.

England’s latest defeat appeared to mirror previous encounters in terms of performance, if not result. Set 162 runs for victory, the West Indies must have been more than content when the British weather intervened to result in a revised figure of 80 from 9 overs under the Duckworth-Lewis rule.

While England’s bowlers performed admirably, they fell just short as the Windies reached their target with 3 balls to spare. With the likes of Gayle, Pollard and Bravo in their team, all destructive batsmen, it was unlikely that all three would fail to put English bowlers to the sword and with batting quality in depth, a nine over thrash favoured the visitors. The Windies at one point reached a precarious 45 for 5 with only a couple of recognised batsmen to come, but still managed to prevail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *